It’s a beautiful life

My home phone usually rings so infrequently that I forget we even have a landline. All of the people that call us regularly know our cell numbers (and also know that the aforementioned cell phones are generally glued to our left hands). For days, my phone has been ringing off the hook – that’s an expression, right? Whereas before I was immediately suspicious that the caller was a telemarketer (hello…. Mrs… Jacks? Jacwez? Jakes?), I am now pleasantly surprised to hear a familiar voice on the other end of the line. People are calling for news and updates, and just to see how I’m doing. It might be easy to think that if someone I rarely talk to is calling, their reason for calling may be a little self serving (satisfying their own curiosity) but I choose to see it for what it is: people who, despite going long periods without hearing from me, really care about how I’m doing. So, for any of you who have sent me a text, a Facebook message, commented on this blog, or have called to say “hi”, I thank you. It’s touching to say the least. And if any of you have thought about dropping me a line but have hesitated because you thought I must be too busy or overwhelmed, feel free (but also don’t feel obligated). Each little note is truly appreciated, even if I don’t have time to respond right away.

On another note, I woke up this morning and sat on the edge of my bed, willing myself to actually get up, when I suddenly realized that in less than 24 hours, some doctor would be coming at me with a giant needle *gulp*. I wish I could just hit the fast forward button and skip that part.

Once I recovered from my realization, I made my way downstairs where mom and my aunt were sitting at the kitchen table chatting. I sat with them and we chatted for a good 2-3 hours about everything and nothing. It was a lovely distraction. When my aunt left after lunch, mom and I dressed the kids and met my friend and her kids (those kids are like nieces/nephew to me) for a walk around the neighborhood, followed by playing with the kids on the wooden swing set in my back yard. It was admittedly cold today, but the sun was shining and I felt good.

Dad arrived this evening, just as supper was ready. It’s really great having both mom and dad here. Stella has been saying Poppy (what the girls call my dad) just about non stop.

I feel so incredibly blessed – what I am currently going through doesn’t change that. I am so fortunate to have an amazing family, and equally amazing friends.

So thank you to everyone who is there for me with their text messages, emails and calls, and to those of you who are there silently. I am thankful for every last one of you.

It truly is a beautiful life.

Tina

About TinaMuslimah

30 year old Muslim revert. Writing about life between two worlds.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to It’s a beautiful life

  1. Sylvie Melanson says:

    Hi Tina what is you home phone number i would like to talk to you and wish you luckfor tomorrow

  2. Christine Alarie says:

    Hi Tina,
    You are such a good writer, when I read your blogs I feel like I am reading a book by a #1 selling author. You express yourself so well. I am wishing you goodluck for tomorrow, I will be thinking about you all day, actually not to sound creepy but I actually do think about you a lot, and that is only because you helped me discover my passion – CROCHET. I cannot believe how much I love to make things, my next project is this amazing flower purse and I am making it for my mother. Anyways even though you may not be able to sleep tonight I do hope you try to rest up, tomorrow will be a big day for you and you need your rest.

  3. Nicole Green says:

    You are in my thought and prayers today! I’m glad you are surrounded by family and even though I am far away and sometimes it is hard to keep up with each others life, know that you are constantly in my thoughts. Friends as good as you and I are never really apart! Kick that needles ass today!

    Nicole

Leave a Reply

