Easter weekend

Easter was never a big deal to me growing up. As I got older, it was a holiday that fell by they wayside, not holding any significance for me. Even now, I only know Easter is approaching because the local retailers are overflowing with bunnies that poop eggs, and the corner store is selling cadbury cream eggs. I have to ask people what weekend Easter falls on, because I can never keep track (darn those wandering holidays! Can’t it be the same day every year?). I’m not religious by any stretch of the imagination, and therein lies my difficulty with Easter (but the hypocrite in me loves Christmas). Let me just add that every time one of you sends me a message saying you are praying for me, it truly warms my heart and it is very much appreciated. I may not share your beliefs, but it means a great deal to me that any of you might take time out of your day to think about me, and send out positive thoughts for my recovery. And this year, for the first time in my life, Easter may have changed a little for me. It has become something other than mass consumerism and rabbits that poop eggs (I know that Easter actually IS much more than that, especially to those of you who believe in God, but the commercial aspect of it always fries my bacon). Maybe next year when Easter rolls around it will be something that I’ll remember ahead of time, and something that I will look forward to. Because this year Easter means spending time with my family and my friends, and being in the hearts and minds of more people than I could have possibly imagined.

I truly wish every single one of you the happiest of Easter weekends, whatever Easter means to you.

Post Script:
My religious beliefs (or lack thereof) may eventually be discussed in a future blog post. I do have the utmost respect for those of you that identify yourselves as religious, and, in many ways I’m envious.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

