You’re gonna catch a cold from the ice inside your soul

When did people become so out of touch with reality? Honestly. When did people become immune to the suffering of other people, so entrenched in their own trivial problems that they have turned a blind eye to the rest of the world. In case you were wondering what I’m talking about, I read an article today about Melissa Ethridge and Tammy Lynn Michaels. For those of you not familiar with Ms. Ethridge, she is a singer. Her and her partner Tammy Lynn lived together for 9 years and had two children together. They are no longer together and they are going through the normal shenanigans that couples with kids go through when they divorce/split up. Except that Ms. Michaels is unsatisfied with the – wait for it – TWENTY-THREE-THOUSAND DOLLARS A MONTH that she is receiving in child support, because she has become accustomed to an extravagant life style and 23K a month just ain’t gonna cut it. ARE YOU KIDDING ME? Many Americans live off that amount of money PER YEAR! And most of the worlds population probably won’t even see that kind of money in their entire LIVES. The greed and the attitudes of entitlement of some people absolutely makes me sick. The more people have, the more they think they deserve. It is sad and it is sick. I can’t tell you how many times a little old lady asked me about billing for the Ambulance because she didn’t know how she was going to pay for it. We have it fairly easy here in Canada. When I think of the health care system in the states (which I always have but do a lot more of now – because I have never been so grateful to be Canadian), I cringe. People die because they won’t go to the doctor’s office or hospital simply because they don’t have the money to pay for it. A cancer diagnosis in the states will saddle you and your family with a life time of debt. That, or you refuse treatment and you die. Ms. Michaels would not have to look far beyond her own window to see that MILLIONS of people get by every day with far less than she has. I have no words. If there is one trait that I cannot stand in people, it is selfishness and this is the ultimate display.

Rant over. I’m going to go enjoy my night.

About TinaMuslimah

30 year old Muslim revert. Writing about life between two worlds.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment